Wednesday, March 30, 2016

Gwinnett County is Georgia's second most populous county, with its county seat in Lawrenceville. Named for one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence, Button Gwinnett, it used to be a part of neighboring Jackson County until 1818 when it was created. 

 The total area of Gwinnett County is 437 square miles, with 430 being land and 6.4 being water at Lake Lanier, the Ocmulgee River, and the Altamaha River. There are 805,321 people, 268,519 households, and 203,238 families residing in the county, and housing density is at 677.4 per square mile, according to the 2010 census.

Real Estate For Sale In Gwinnett County

Cities in Gwinnett County include:

  • Suwanee
  • Duluth
  • Norcross
  • Lawrenceville
  • Snellville
  • Buford
  • Sugar Hill
  • Berkeley Lake
  • Dacula
  • Grayson
  • Peachtree Corners
  • Lilburn
  • Loganville
Also, there are two sports teams based in Gwinnett County that are a big entertainment attraction to the area--the Gwinnett Braves, a minor league baseball team, and the Atlanta Gladiators, an ice hockey team. Other attractions to the area include the Mall of Georgia in Buford, Suwanee Town Park in Suwanee, and Lake Lanier Islands.